History

Burhill History

The Burhill Estate, home to Burhill Golf Club has an intriguing history. The stunning mansion that we see today has had its share of ups and downs, residence for several important and affluent individuals and the setting for some incredible historical achievements. Below is a snapshot of some key dates in the mansion’s history.

Enquire

1726

The mansion was built as a private residence by Peter De La Porte, a wealthy London Thread Merchant.

1740

Brigadier-General John Johnson inherited the house.

1841

Grandson of the above Charles Kemeys-Tynte, MP for Bridgewater, Somerset, inherited the property from his father Lieutenant-Colonel John Kemeys-Tynte.

1851

Francis Thomas Bircham, a Parliamentary lawyer acquired the property.

1861

Fire destroyed the whole mansion, which was rebuilt the same year.

1885

Bircham granted a lease to Elizabeth Wellesley – Duchess of Wellington (who died in 1904).

1888

Sir Edward Cecil Guinness (the future 1st Earl of Iveagh) purchased the property from Samuel Bircham, son of Francis Bircham.

1905

Already settled at Elvedan Hall, Thetford and his son Rupert (future 2nd Earl of Iveagh) put the Burhill Estate up for auction (over 1,500 acres) without success and it was withdrawn from the market.

1906

Rupert Guinness leased the mansion (and land for two 18 hole golf courses) to a syndicate of local businessmen.

1907

Burhill Golf Club opened.

1940

The Ministry of Aircraft Production requisitioned the Club for use of a workforce of 200, headed by Barnes Wallis, creator of the famous ‘Bouncing Bomb’ whilst working at Burhill.

1947

The Clubhouse was restored to the members.

1999

Building of the New Course commenced. Work also began on the restoration of the mansion.

2001

The New Course opened in May 2001, with the Clubhouse being officially re-opened by the 4th Earl of Iveagh on 3rd September.

2007

Burhill Golf Club celebrated its centenary.